Brock Lab of Intergroup Processes (BLIP)

Brock Lab of Intergroup Processes (BLIP)


PEOPLE in the Lab


Dr. Gordon Hodson

Gordon Hodson (PhD, University of Western Ontario) is Professor of Psychology at Brock University, and the Director of the Brock Lab of Intergroup Processes (BLIP).

His research interests involve stereotyping, prejudice, and discrimination, with particular interests in individual differences (e.g., authoritarianism, political ideology), intergroup contact and cross-group friendship, emotions (e.g., intergroup disgust; empathy; anxiety), and dehumanization.

He is a former Associate Editor at the Journal of Experimental Social Psychology (JESP), and presently serves on the Editorial Boards of Social Psychological and Personality Science (SPPS), the European Review of Social Psychology (ERSP), and the European Journal of Social Psychology (EJSP). He has previously been on the boards of the Journal of Social and Personality Psychology (JPSP) and the Canadian Journal of Behavioural Science (CJBS).

He has been awarded the Chancellor's Chair for Research Excellence (Brock University), 2015-2018. 

Brock Faculty Profile: click here

Social Psychology Network (SPN) Profile: click here

Psychology Today column (Without Prejudice): click here


Mark Hoffarth (PhD Student)

Mark is interested in factors leading to the expression of intergroup bias, in particular with regards to sexual orientation and gender roles. He is also interested in political ideology, intergroup emotions, and human sexuality.

Personal website:

Advisor: Dr. Hodson

Sample publications: 

Hoffarth, M.R., & Hodson, G. (2014). Is subjective ambivalence toward gays a modern form of bias? Personality and Individual Differences, 69, 75-80. 

Hoffarth, M.R., Drolet, C.E., Hodson, G., & Hafer, C.L. (in press). Development and validation of the Attitudes Toward Asexuals (ATA) scale. Psychology and Sexuality

Hoffarth, M.R., & Hodson, G. (2016). Green on the outside, red on the inside: Perceived environmentalist threat as a factor explaining political polarization of climate change. Journal of Environmental Psychology, 45, 40-49. DOI: 10.1016/j.jenvp.2015.11.002


Megan Earle (Masters Student)

Megan is a Masters student at Brock. She is interested in prejudice and discrimination, as well as the learning and internalization of stereotypes.

Advisor: Dr. Hodson


Malvina Skorska (PhD Student)

 Malvina is a PhD student working under the supervision of Professor Bogaert. In addition to her interests in human sexuality, Malvina is interested in prejudices toward sexual minorities. She is presently working on a research apprenticeship in the Intergroup Relations Laboratory.

Sample publication: 

Hodson, G., & Skorska, M.N. (2015). Tapping generalized essentialism to predict outgroup prejudices. British Journal of Social Psychology, 54, 371-382.  DOI:10.1111/bjso.12083


Kari Gracey (4th year BA thesis student)

Kari's interests include investigating the role of disgust sensitivity and the behavioural immune system in predicting clinical constructs and sexual prejudice.She is also interested in the use of certain humor styles (e.g. disparaging humor) as they relate to personality variables.

Advisor: Dr. Hodson


Research Assistants

Karolina Walczyk
Mimoza Aliu

Sarah McComb

Katarina McKenzie

Samantha Laffin 

Andrew Chung


Lab Alumni

Nour Kteily, PhD (completed a SSHRC-funded postdoc in the lab); Presently an Assistant Professor at the Kellogg School of Management. 

Cara MacInnis, PhD (first a SSHRC postdoctoral fellow at the University of Toronto, working with Liz Page-Gould; Now an Assistant Professor at the University of Calgary). As a PhD student she was a recipient of the Jack M. Miller Excellence in Research Award (2013). 

Kimberly Costello, PhD (now professor at Seneca College).

Becky Choma, PhD (presently an Asssistant Professor at Ryerson University). 2014 Canadian Psychology Association (CPA) President's New Researcher Award recipient. 

Paul Adachi, PhD (presently a SSHRC Banting postdoctoral fellow at the University of Rochester). As a PhD student he was a recipient of the Jack M. Miller Excellence in Research Award (2014). 

Leanne Gosse, PhD (now Professor of Community and Criminal Justice, Conestoga College)

Beenish Khan, MA

PJ Sangalang, MA


Visiting Scholars

Kristof Dhont, PhD (summer 2013)