Master of Arts in Geography Program

Department of Geography




Master of Arts in Geography Program

 

Faculty Members

 

Jeff Boggs, Associate Professor
E-mailJeff.Boggs@brocku.ca; Office; MC C328; Ext: 4975
Research Interests: Economic geography and heterodox political economy; Locational dynamics of media and other cultural industries; Regional political economy; Economic development in second-tier cities and deindustrialized region; Niagara's changing economy, and regional foci: North America; European Union (especially Germany and Mitteleuropa).
 
David Butz, Professor
E-mail: dbutz@brocku.ca; Office: MC C315; Ext: 3205
Research Interests: Social and cultural geography; Qualitative research design; Community level social organisation in northern Pakistan; Road construction and social change in the global south; Transport labour in the Karakoram/Hindu-Kush/Himalaya; Reggae music and spatiality.

Daryl Dagesse, Associate Professor
E-mail: ddagesse@brocku.ca; Office: MC C320; Ext: 4071
Research Interests: Soil aggregate stability under freezing conditions; Thermodynamics of freezing; Freeze/Thaw weathering of rock; Glacial landforms of the Peterborough area.

Christopher Fullerton, Associate Professor
E-mail: Chris.Fullerton@brocku.ca; Office: MC C319; Ext: 3487
Research Interests: Planning history of Ottawa; Public transit planning and policy; Rural community development; Universal transit pass programs at post-secondary institutions.

Hugh Gayler, Professor Emeritus
E-mail: hjgayler@brocku.ca; Office: MC C312A; Ext: 3488
Research Interests: Planning issues on the rural-urban fringe; Smart growth; Urbanisation and agricultural land preservation.

Alun Hughes (1942-2013), Associate Professor
Research Interests: Early surveys and settlement of the Niagara Peninsula; Historical geography of Thorold and neighbouring townships; History of Brock University campus.

Marilyne Jollineau, Associate Professor
E-mail: mjollineau@brocku.ca, Office: MC C325; Ext: 4556
Research Interests: Remote sensing of wetland ecosystems; Water resources management; Geomatics approaches to vineyard management; Hyperspectral image-analysis techniques; Land-use/land-cover mapping and monitoring.

Phillip Gordon Mackintosh, Associate Professor and Chair
E-mail: pmackintosh@brocku.ca; Office: MC C321; Ext: 5221
Research Interests: Urban historical geography; Victorian, Edwardian, and Interwar urban reform; city and park planning history; Cultural geography, cultural history, and public space (including bicycling); Political economy and urban geography.

John Menzies, Professor
E-mail: jmenzies@brocku.ca; Office: MC D421; Ext: 3865 
Research Interests: Drumlins and associated bedforms; Glacial micromorphology; Subglacial sediments.

Catherine Jean Nash, Associate Professor
E-mail: Catherine.Nash@brocku.ca; Office: MC C317; Ext: 3238
Research Interests: Social and cultural geographies; Urban planning and development; Digitial cities, cyberspace and mobilities.

Michael Pisaric, Associate Professor
E-mailmpisaric@brocku.ca; Office: MC C318; Ext: 6152
Research Interests: Climate change; Dendrochronology; Paleolimnology; Arctic ecosystems; Landscape evolution.

Mike Ripmeester, Professor
E-mail: Michael.Ripmeester@brocku.ca; Office: MC C331; Ext: 4416
Research Interests: Geographies of popular memory; Geography and ethnohistory; Historical and cultural geography; Historical geographies of First Nations in Ontario

Anthony Shaw, Professor
E-mail: tshaw@brocku.ca; Office: MC C326; Ext: 3866
Research Interests: Detection and prediction of road surface icing conditions; Microclimate analysis for specialty crops; Thermal and moisture behaviour of stud wall vs. structural insulated panel; Wind machine for freeze protection; Wind resource, assessment for wind power; Wine terroir and sub-appellations.

Dragos Simandan, Professor and Graduate Program Director
E-mail: simandan@brocku.ca; Office: MC C327; Ext: 5010
Research Interests: Intelligence and Wisdom in Human Affairs; Social Theory & Philosophy of the Social Sciences; Geographical Reasoning; Economic, Resource, and Environmental Geographies; The Interface between Geography and Psychology.

Kevin Turner, Assistant Professor
E-mail: kturner2@brocku.ca; Office: MC C330; Ext: 5399

Ebru Ustundag, Associate Professor
E-maileustundag@brocku.ca; Office: MC C314; Ext: 4417
Research Interests: Urban Geography, Citizenship Studies, Feminist Geographies, Geographies of Sex-Work, Emotional/Affective Geographies, Geographies of Health and Addiction

 

U-Pass at Brock

Transit U-Pass at Work