VPR Reports

Photo of Gary Libben
Dr. Gary Libben

Dr. Gary Libben is a scholar and academic administrator who is a leader in advancing interdisciplinary research. Before coming to Brock, he served as Associate Vice-President (Research) at the University of Calgary. A psycholinguist who studies how words are represented and processed in the mind, Dr. Libben was named in 2008 as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He is a former President of the Canadian Linguistics Association, co-founder of The Mental Lexicon Journal, and was a founding director of the University of Alberta’s Centre for Comparative Psycholinguistics. He has also been director of Words in the Mind, Words in the Brain, a Major Collaborative Research Initiative funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. Dr. Libben’s international experience includes visiting professorships in Austria and the Netherlands.