Don Ursino Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Large Classes

Don Ursino Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Large Classes

In 1991, Dr. Don Ursino was named a national 3M Teaching Award Fellow, only the second in Brock University history. The award was established to honour his legacy of engaged teaching.

The Don Ursino Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Large Classes is awarded to an outstanding teacher who demonstrates commitment to the improvement of student learning in a large class. A focus on student learning might include evidence of instructional strategies that engage and motivate; innovative instruction; inquiry or problem-based learning activities; formative assessment strategies; authentic assessment practices; and a concern for student progress.

Any instructor (full-time faculty, sessional instructor, graduate student) teaching a large class at Brock University is eligible.

Nomination Procedures
A nomination package not to exceed 20 pages (double sided) should include:
• Letter of nomination from any member of the University community (students, TAs, colleagues, administrators)
• Letters of support from colleagues, students, and administrators
• Statement of teaching philosophy
• List of courses taught and enrolment figures
• Summary of student ratings of instruction
• A brief CV ( no more than 8 pages)
• Additional documentation pertaining to excellence in teaching (such as professional development in post secondary teaching)

Generally, a large class at Brock University consists of 100 or more students. However, given the diversity of enrolment in programs across the University, there may be smaller class sizes. In this case, nominations should include a statement signed by the department chair, program director or Dean/Associate Dean as to why the classes of the nominee should be considered large by standards applicable to that department or program.

Award Presentation
The recipient will be recognized at CPI’s annual Tribute to Teaching event and will receive a framed certificate, as well as a teaching and learning grant for participation in a teaching-related conference. A plaque recognizing this achievement will be housed in the CPI. The adjudication committee reserves the right not to name a recipient in any given year.

Deadline for Nomination Submissions:
The nomination package must be submitted to the Centre for Pedagogical Innovation (TH253 A) by November 1st, annually. The award will be given at the Tribute to Teaching event in early December.

Don Ursino Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Large Classes 

Lydia Chen, Chemistry

Brent Faught, Madelyn Law, Health Sciences

John Mitterer, Psychology

Marilyn Cottrell, Economics

Hans Skott-Myhre, Child and Youth Studies