Clarke Thomson Award for Excellence in Sessional Teaching

Clarke Thomson Award for Excellence in Sessional Teaching

Brock University would like to recognize the contributions of its part time/sessional teaching staff who contribute significantly to student learning at Brock University. Clarke Thomson is a professor emeritus who, throughout his university career, promoted the support, development and recognition of university teaching and was Brock University's first recipient of a national 3M teaching award (1989).

All instructors on contracts or limited-term appointments who teach undergraduate classes, and who have been teaching at Brock University for two or more years, are eligible. One award is available annually.

Nomination Procedures
Students, faculty, alumni and staff are invited to submit individual nominations for the award. Nomination dossiers of no more than 20 pages should include the following documentation:

  • A nomination letter outlining reasons for the nomination
  • A list of courses taught and enrolment figures
  • Letters of support from colleagues, students and administrators
  • Statement of teaching philosophy
  • Summary of student ratings of instruction
  • A brief CV (no more than 8 pages)
  • Additional documentation pertaining to excellence in teaching

Selection Committee
The Teaching Award Adjudication Committee will consist of a member of the Senate Sub-Committee on Teaching and Learning, the Director of the Centre for Pedagogical Innovation (CPI) or designate, a past University teaching award winner, a student representative, and a member of CPI's Teaching Council.

Award Presentation
The recipient will be recognized at the CPI's annual Spring Teaching and Learning Day and will receive a framed certificate and a teaching and learning grant for participation in the annual conference of the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education. A plaque recognizing this achievement will be housed in the CPI. The adjudication committee reserves the right not to name a recipient in any given year.

Award Deadline
The nomination package must be submitted to the Centre for Pedagogical Innovation (TH253 A) by March 15 annually. The award will be conferred at the Spring Teaching and Learning Day, hosted annually in May by the CPI.

Clarke Thomson Award for Excellence in Sessional Teaching 

Amy Friend, Visual Arts

Danielle Molnar, Psychology

Mark Wickens, Teacher Education

Laura Prelipcean, MLLC

Giselle Whyte, Teacher Education

Tammy Whitaker-Campbell, Kinesiology

Roelof G. Makken, Economics