Brock lecturers nominated for TVO competition

News around Campus

Brock lecturers nominated for TVO competition

Published on November 04 2009

A dozen Brock lecturers are in the running for TVO’s Big Ideas 2010 Best Lecturer competition.

Professors from across the University, including the Hamilton campus, are among the 332 nominated for the annual competition, which comes with a $10,000 TD Insurance Meloche Monnex scholarship for the winning school.

Nominees from Brock are:

  • James Allard, English Language and Literature
  • Leah Bradshaw, Political Science
  • Daniel Glenday, Sociology
  • Paul Hamilton, Political Science
  • Craig Hyatt, Sport Management
  • Panagiota Klentrou, Physical Education and Kinesiology
  • John McNamara, Child and Youth Studies
  • Cathy Miyata, Education (Hamilton campus)
  • Gail Phillips, Education (Hamilton campus)
  • Bill Ralph, Mathematics
  • Hans Skott-Myhre, Child and Youth Studies
  • Terrence Wade, Community Health Sciences

Nominees will be narrowed to 20 semifinalists on Dec. 7. A panel of judges will then select 10 finalists whose lectures will air beginning March 6, 2010. The winner is determined by viewer vote.

Last year, Allard was a finalist with his lecture “Frankenstein, Five Ways.” The year before, Tim Conley, English Language and Literature, and John Mitterer, Psychology, were finalists. Conley’s lecture was titled “Co-ordinating the Self in Contemporary Poetry,” while Mitterer lectured on “Truth and Humility in Professional Practice.”

For more information, visit


james allard

James Allard