Professors

Department of Mathematics & Statistics




Professors


 

Current Professors

Name/Contact Research/Teaching Information

 Syed Ejaz Ahmed

 MC D418
905-688-5550, Ext. 3421
sahmed5@brocku.ca

Statistical inference, multivariate analysis and asymptotic theory.

Stephen Anco

MC J423
905-688-5550, Ext. 3728
sanco@brocku.ca

Differential Equations, Symmetries and Conservation Laws, Soliton Theory, Mathematical Physics, Symbolic Computation.
Hichem Ben-El-Mechaiekh
MC J418
905-688-5550, Ext. 3758
hmechaie@brocku.ca
Set-valued analysis, fixed point theory, variational methods for dynamical systems, mathematical economics, game theory and optimization
Chantal Buteau
MC J427
905-688-5550, Ext. 3167
cbuteau@brocku.ca

Mathematics Education (Technology, University Education, Teacher Education) and Mathematical Music Theory (Deterministic Modeling of Analysis, Computational Music Analysis)

Babak Farzad
MC J424
905-688-5550, Ext. 3145
bfarzad@brocku.ca
Graph Theory, Algorithmic Game Theory, Algorithms and Discrete Optimization
Henryk Fuks
MC J407
905-688-5550, Ext. 3296
hfuks@brocku.ca
Spatially-extended discrete dynamical systems, Cellular automata, Lattice gas automata
Mei Ling Huang
MC J411
905-688-5550 Ext. 4255
mhuang@brocku.ca
Statistical Theory and Methods, Experimental Design Theory and Methods
Omar Kihel
MC J425
905-688-5550, Ext. 3295
okihel@brocku.ca
Finite field functions and their applications to coding theory and cryptography; existence of primitive polynomials over finite fields; exponential sums over finite fields
Yuanlin Li
MC J422
905-688-5550, Ext. 4626
yli@brocku.ca
Homological Aspects of Rings, Group Rings and Their Applications in Combinatoric Number Theory, and Coding Theory.
Alexander Odesskii
MC J432
905-688-5550, Ext. 3297
aodesski@brocku.ca
Mathematical Physics, Integrable Systems, Representation Theory, Algebraic Geometry, Theory of Special Functions
Bill Ralph
MC J428
905-688-5550, Ext.3804
bralph@brocku.ca
Use of multimedia and computer software in mathematics
Jan Vrbik

MC J410
905-688-5550, Ext. 3298
jvrbik@brocku.ca

Celestial Mechanics, Perturbed Kepler Problem, Edgeworth Series, Central Limit Theorem, Maximum Likelihood Estimation, Autoregressive Models.

Thomas Wolf
MC J413
905-688-5550, Ext. 3803
twolf@brocku.ca

Integrability of differential equations, Computer Algebra, Classical General Relativity, Mathematical Analysis of the game Go

Xiaojian Xu
MC J402
905-688-5550, Ext. 3299
xxu@brocku.ca
Statistical Models and Inference; Optimal Regression Designs; Robust Methods; Multivariate Analysis; Accelerated
Life testing
Wai Kong (John) Yuen
MC J403
905-688-5550, Ext. 3294
wyuen@brocku.ca
Convergence rate and efficiency optimization of Markov chain Monte Carlo algorithms in high dimensions with the aid of extensive and computationally intensive simulation studies

Top

Limited-Term Appointments

Name/Contact Research/Teaching Information

Basil Nanayakkara

905-688-5550, Ext. 3103
bnanayakkara@brocku.ca

Algebraic Geometry and Algebra
   

Top 

Adjunct Professors
 

Name/Contact Research/Teaching Information
Tom Jenkyns

905-688-5550, Ext. 3300
tjenkyns@telus.net

Combinatorics and Optimization
   

Peng Zhang

905-688-5550, Ext. 3300
pengz@ualberta.ca

Correlated data analysis, data mining, measurement error models
   

Top 

Professors Emeriti
 

Name/Contact Research/Teaching Information
Howard Bell

905-688-5550 Ext. 3300
hbell@brocku.ca

Ring Theory
905-688-5550 Ext. 3300
 
Real and Complex Analysis
Charles Laywine
905-688-5550, Ext. 3300
claywine@brocku.ca
Combinatorial Design Theory
John Mayberry
905-688-5550, Ext. 3300
j.p.mayberry@sympatico.ca
Knot-Theory, Game-Theory & Applications, Combinatorics, Abstract Mathematical Models
Eric Muller
905-688-5550, Ext.3300
emuller@brocku.ca
Mathematics education with Impact of Technology

Top