About Us

Department of Earth Sciences

About Us

The Department

The Department of Earth Sciences was founded at Brock University in 1968, three years after Brock University was formed. The Department now has ten faculty members with a wide variety of research and teaching interests. Research specialties include clastic sedimentology, structural geology, micropaleontology and paleoecology, Quaternary paleoecology, environmental geology, carbonate geochemistry, metamorphic and igneous petrology and geochemistry and glacial geomorphology.

Programs of Study

The Department offers a traditional undergraduate geology program and a program in environmental geoscience. Also offered is a M.Sc. program that includes the broad area of "crustal studies" and Quaternary geology. Note that Crustal studies includes any aspect of earth science that deals with the crust (including paleontology, sedimentology, etc.).