Faculty and Staff

Faculty of Humanities




Faculty and Staff

Department of Classics

Permanent Faculty

Michael J. Carter
Professor, Roman History and Latin
Office: GLN-B 312
Extension: 3796
Email: mjcarter@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Wed 12:00-1:00, or by appointment only

Fanny Dolansky

Associate Professor, Roman Social History, Latin Literature, and Roman Religion
Office: GLN-B 317
Extension: 5372
Email: fdolansky@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Wed 3:00-4:00, Fri 1:00-2:00, or by appointment only

Allison Glazebrook

Associate Professor, Greek Social and Cultural History
Office: GLN-B 313
Extension: 3319
Email: aglazebrook@brocku.ca
Office Hours: by appointment only
 
Elizabeth S. Greene

Associate Professor, Greek Art and Archaeology
Office: GLN-B 315
Extension: 5373
Email: esgreene@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Thurs 1:30-3:30, or by appointment

Carol U. Merriam

Professor, Latin Poetry
Interim Dean, Faculty of Humanities
Office: MC A305
Extension: 4562/3575
Email: merriamc@brocku.ca
Office Hours: by appointment only

Carrie A. Murray

Assistant Professor, Roman Art and Archaeology
Office: GLN-B 327
Extension: 6238
Email: cmurray@brocku.ca
Office Hours: by appointment only

Roberto Nickel

Assistant Professor, Greek Epic and Mythology
Graduate Program Director
Office: GLN-B 325
Extension: 4158
Email: rnickel@brocku.ca
Office Hours: by appointment only

Richard W. Parker

Associate Professor, Greek Language and Literature, Greek History
Office: GLN-B 321
Extension: 5206
Email: rparker@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 6:30-7:00 in IC 114, Wed 7:30-8:00 in IC 114, or by appointment

R. Angus K. Smith

Department Chair
Associate Professor, Greek Archaeology
Office: GLN-B 310
Extension: 3798
Email: rsmith@brocku.ca
Office Hours: by appointment only

Katharine T. von Stackelberg

Associate Professor, Ancient Environment, Latin, Roman History
Office: GLN-B 319
Extension: 5374
Email: kvonstackelberg@brocku.ca
Office Hours: by appointment only
 

Part-time: Fall/Winter 2015-2016

Anton Jansen
Instructor (fall): CLAS 1P95 (Myths of the Greek and Roman Gods), CLAS/LART 3P11 (Early Greek Literature)
Instructor (winter): CLAS 1P97 (Myths of the Heroic Age), CLAS/DART/LART 3P12 (Classical and Hellenistic Greek Literature)
Office: GLN-B 347
Extension: 4251
Email: ajansen@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon and Wed 12:30-2:00, and by appointment

Sarah Parker
Instructor (fall): LATI 2P01 (Latin Language and Literature I)
Instructor (winter): LATI 2P02 (Latin Language and Litearture II), CLAS 1P94 (Latin and Greek Roots of English), LATI 4P01 (Virgil)
Office: GLN-B 349
Extension: 4530
Email: sparker@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues 11:00-12:00, or by appointment
 



Emeritus Faculty 

Noel Robertson
Professor Emeritus, Greek History and Greek Religion
Email: noelrobertson@shaw.ca

David W. Rupp
Professor Emeritus, Greek Archaeology
Email: drupp@brocku.ca

 

Staff

Barb Chatwin
Administrative Assistant
Office: GLN-B 309
Extension: 3575
Email: classics@brocku.ca
Office Hours:  Monday through Friday 8:30 am-12:00 pm, 1:00-4:30 pm

Tarah Csaszar

Course Co-ordinator for CLAS 1P91 & CLAS 1P92 (fall/winter 2014-2015)
Office: GLN-B 337
Extension: 6296
E-mail: tcsaszar@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., or by appointment

Diane van Riezen

Course Co-ordinator for CLAS 1P95 & CLAS 1P97 (fall/winter 2014-2015)
Office: GLN-B 337
Extension: 6105
Email: dvanriezen@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 2:00-4:00, or by appointment

Alisa Cunnington

Faculty of Humanities Undergraduate Advisor
Office: MC A313
Extension: 5279
E-mail: acunnington@brocku.ca
To book an appointment, please go the Faculty of Humanities Academic Advising page and follow the instructions listed there.

Two male professors holding paper elaborate hairstyles and drinking cups

Michael Carter and Angus Smith enjoying the 2013 Saturnalia party

Departmental Events


There are no events at this time.