Faculty and Staff

Faculty of Humanities




Faculty and Staff

Department of Classics

Permanent Faculty

Michael J. Carter
Department Chair
Associate Professor, Roman History and Latin
Office: GLN-B 312
Extension: 3796
Email: mjcarter@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Fri 10:00-11:00, or by appointment

Fanny Dolansky

Associate Professor, Roman Social History, Latin Literature, and Roman Religion
Office: GLN-B 317
Extension: 5372
Email: fdolansky@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 1:30-2:30, or by appointment

Allison Glazebrook

Associate Professor, Greek Social and Cultural History
Office: GLN-B 310
Extension: 3319/3575
Email: aglazebrook@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 11:30-1:00, Wed 11:30-12:30, or by appointment
 
Elizabeth S. Greene

Associate Professor, Greek Art and Archaeology
Undergraduate Program Officer 
Office: GLN-B 315
Extension: 5373
Email: esgreene@brocku.ca
Office Hours: by appointment only

Carol U. Merriam

Professor, Latin Poetry
Associate Dean (Humanities), Graduate Studies and Research
Office: GLN-B 323
Extension: 3320/3575
Email: merriamc@brocku.ca
Office Hours: TBA, or by appointment

Carrie A. Murray

Assistant Professor, Roman Art and Archaeology
Office: GLN-B 327
Extension: 6238
Email: cmurray@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues 3:00-4:00, Wed 2:00-3:00, or by appointment

Roberto Nickel

Assistant Professor, Greek Epic and Mythology
Graduate Program Director
Office: GLN-B 325
Extension: 4158
Email: rnickel@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 2:00-3:00, Thurs 11:00-12:30, or by appointment

Richard W. Parker

Associate Professor, Greek Language and Literature, Greek History
Office: GLN-B 321
Extension: 5206
Email: rparker@brocku.ca
Office Hours: by appointment only

R. Angus K. Smith

Associate Professor, Greek Archaeology
Office: GLN-B 313
Extension: 3798
Email: rsmith@brocku.ca
Office Hours: by appointment only

Katharine T. von Stackelberg

Associate Professor, Ancient Environment, Latin, Roman History
Office: GLN-B 319
Extension: 5374
Email: kvonstackelberg@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues 3:00-4:00, or by appointment
 

Part-time Faculty Fall/Winter 2014-2015

Nadine Brundrett
Office: GLN-B 347
Extension:  4427
Instructor: CLAS 1P91 (fall), CLAS/INTC 2P34 (winter), CLAS/VISA 3P25 (winter)
Email: nbrundrett@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Wed 12:00-1:00, Thurs 10:00-11:00, or by appointment

Anton Jansen

Office: GLN-B 347
Extension: 4251
Instructor: CLAS 1P95 (fall), CLAS 1P97 (winter), CLAS 2P40 (winter)
Email: ajansen@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 10:30-12:00, Thurs 11:30-1:00, or by appointment


Sarah Parker

Office: GLN-B 345
Extension: 4530
Instructor: GREE 1F00 (fall), LATI 4P21 (fall), CLAS 1P94 (winter), CLAS/DART/LART 3P14 (winter) 
Email: sparker@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 2:00-3:00, or by appointment

Faculty Office Hours (Winter 2015) - complete list


Emeritus Faculty 

Noel Robertson
Professor Emeritus, Greek History and Greek Religion
Email: noelrobertson@shaw.ca

David W. Rupp
Professor Emeritus, Greek Archaeology
Email: drupp@brocku.ca

 

Staff

Barb Chatwin
Administrative Assistant
Office: GLN-B 309
Extension: 3575
Email: classics@brocku.ca
Office Hours:  Monday through Friday 8:30 am-12:00 pm, 1:00-4:30 pm

Tarah Csaszar

Course Co-ordinator for CLAS 1P91 & CLAS 1P92 (fall/winter 2014-2015)
Office: GLN-B 337
Extension: 6296
E-mail: tcsaszar@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., or by appointment

Diane van Riezen

Course Co-ordinator for CLAS 1P95 & CLAS 1P97 (fall/winter 2014-2015)
Office: GLN-B 337
Extension: 6105
Email: dvanriezen@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 2:00-4:00, or by appointment

Alisa Cunnington

Faculty of Humanities Undergraduate Advisor
Office: MC A313
Extension: 5279
E-mail: acunnington@brocku.ca
To book an appointment, please go the Faculty of Humanities Academic Advising page and follow the instructions listed there.

Two male professors holding paper elaborate hairstyles and drinking cups

Michael Carter and Angus Smith enjoying the 2013 Saturnalia party

Classics Events