Faculty and Staff

Faculty of Humanities




Faculty and Staff

Department of Classics

Permanent Faculty

Michael J. Carter
Associate Professor, Roman History and Latin
Office: GLN-B 312
Extension: 3796
Email: mjcarter@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Wed 1:30-2:30 p.m., or by appointment

Fanny Dolansky

Associate Professor, Roman Social History, Latin Literature, and Roman Religion
Office: GLN-B 317
Extension: 5372
Email: fdolansky@brocku.ca
Office Hours:  on leave winter 2014

Allison Glazebrook

Associate Professor, Greek Social and Cultural History
Department Chair
Office: GLN-B 310
Extension: 3319/3575
Email: aglazebrook@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Thurs 2:00-3:30 p.m., or by appointment

Elizabeth S. Greene

Associate Professor, Greek Art and Archaeology
Office: GLN-B 315
Extension: 5373
Email: esgreene@brocku.ca
Office Hours: on leave 2013-2014

Carol U. Merriam

Associate Professor, Latin Poetry
Associate Dean (Humanities), Graduate Studies and Research
Office: GLN-B 323
Extension: 3320/3575
Email: merriamc@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon and Wed 8:15-9:00 a.m., or by appointment

Carrie A. Murray

Assistant Professor, Roman Art and Archaeology
Office: GLN-B 327
Extension: 6238
Email: cmurray@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Wed 10:30-11:30 a.m., Fri 2:30-3:30 p.m., or by appointment

Roberto Nickel

Assistant Professor, Greek Epic and Mythology
Undergraduate Program Officer
Office: GLN-B 325
Extension: 4158
Email: rnickel@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Wed 9:30-11:00 a.m., or by appointment

Richard W. Parker

Associate Professor, Greek Language and Literature, Greek History
Office: GLN-B 321
Extension: 5206
Email: rparker@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon and Wed 6:30-7:00 p.m. in IC 113, Wed 4:00-4:45 p.m. in IC 321, and Tues and Thurs 6:30-7:00 p.m. in IC 110

R. Angus K. Smith

Associate Professor, Greek Archaeology
Graduate Program Director
Office: GLN-B 313
Extension: 3798
Email: rsmith@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Thurs 1:00-3:00 p.m., or by appointment

Katharine T. von Stackelberg

Associate Professor, Ancient Environment, Latin, Roman History
Office: GLN-B 319
Extension: 5374
Email: kvonstackelberg@brocku.ca
Office Hours: on leave fall 2013; winter hours TBA
 

Part-time Faculty Spring 2014

Nadine Brundrett
Office: GLN-B 347
Extension:  4427
Instructor: CLAS/INTC 2P34 (spring 2014)
Email: nbrundrett@brocku.ca
Office Hours: TBA

Matthew Mitchell
Office: GLN-B 349
Extension:  4821
Instructor: CLAS 1P95 (spring 2014)
Email: matthew.mitchell2@brocku.ca
Office Hours: TBA

Sarah Parker
Office: GLN-B 315
Extension: 4530
Instructor: CLAS 1P97 (spring 2014)
Email: sparker@brocku.ca
Office Hours: TBA

 

Part-time Faculty 2013-2014

Nadine Brundrett
Office: GLN-B 347
Extension:  4427
Instructor: CLAS/INTC 2P34 (fall 2013)
Email: nbrundrett@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Thurs 10:00-11:00 a.m., or by appointment

Dorin Garofeanu
Office: GLN-B 349
Extension:  4821
Instructor: CLAS 2P00 (fall 2013)
E-mail: dgarofeanu@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Thurs 1:00-2:00 p.m., or by appointment

Anton Jansen
Office: GLN-B 347
Extension: 4251
Instructor: CLAS/HIST 3P05, CLAS 1P97, CLAS/VISA 4V31
E-mail: ajansen@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon 9:00-10:30 am, Wed 10:00-11:30 am, or by appointment

Jack Lightstone, President
Office: 13th Floor, Schmon Tower
Extension: 3333
Instructor: CLAS 2P60
Email: jack.lightston@brocku.ca
Office Hours: by appointment

James M. Lynd                                                                                                                                                Office: GLN-B 349
Extension: 6072
Instructor: CLAS/LART 3P11, CLAS/LART/DART 3P12, GREE 2P02, LATI 4P02
Email: jlynd@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Mon and Fri 11:00-12:00, or by appointment

Sarah Parker
Office: GLN-B 315
Extension: 4530
Instructor: LATI 1F00 (02), LATI 2P01, LATI 2P02
Email: sparker@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Wed 11:30-12:30, Fri 1:00-2:00 p.m., or by appointment
 

Emeritus Faculty

Noel Robertson
Professor Emeritus, Greek History and Greek Religion
Email: noelrobertson@shaw.ca

David W. Rupp
Professor Emeritus, Greek Archaeology
Email: drupp@brocku.ca

 

Staff

Barb Chatwin
Administrative Assistant
Office: GLN-B 309
Extension: 3575
Email: classics@brocku.ca
Office Hours:  Monday through Friday 8:30 am-12 pm, 1-4:30 pm

Marilyne Antonucci
Graduate Office Assistant
Office: GLN-B 337
Extension: 4942
Email: mantonucci@brocku.ca; regarding the graduate program: maclassics@brocku.ca
Office Hours:  Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday  8:30 am-12 noon (mornings only)

Tarah Csaszar
Course Co-ordinator for CLAS 1P91 & CLAS 1P92
Office: GLN-B337
Extension: 6105
E-mail: tcsaszar@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Thurs 1:00-3:00 p.m., or by appointment

Diane van Riezen
Course Co-ordinator for CLAS 1P95 & CLAS 1P97
Office: GLN-B 337
Extension: 6105
Email: dvanriezen@brocku.ca
Office Hours: Tues 12:30-2:30 p.m., or by appointment

Liz Hay
Faculty of Humanities Undergraduate Advisor
Office: MC A311
Extension: 5101
E-mail: lhay@brocku.ca
**Students must book their own appointments. Follow the instructions listed on the Academic Advising page.**

faculty, graduate and undergraduate students in convocation robes and regalia

Departmental Events


There are no events at this time.