Brock University
 About Brock | Library | Academics | Departments | Contacts | Web Services | Site Map | Search

40th Anniversary

  Firsts at Brock
Played at Brock
Worked at Brock
The Faces Behind the Buildings at Brock
  Sharing Memories



The photos in this section depict milestones in Brock’s history.

Where possible, we've identified the people who appear in the photographs. If you should recognize anyone who hasn't been identified, please contact us and we'll update our captions. Information can be submitted to:

The photos were provided by:
Special Collections and Archives, James A. Gibson Library
Divino Mucciante, University Photographer
Office of University Advancement

Click on the photos below to view a larger image.

Construction of the DeCew student residence. Undated. A meeting of the Allanburg Women’s Institute. The Institute had called for the creation of a university in Niagara. Seated from left, Flora Egerter, Ethel Batty, Alice Dougherty, Edith Zieman. Standing from left, Agnes Kinnaird, Helen Baufelt, Oread Vanderburgh, Freda Geroy, Mae Stephenson, Edna Egerter, Jean Harley, Freda Hagar, June Egerter, Marge Harley and Jean Egerter. Undated. The dedication of a plaque that commemorates the founding of Brock University. Undated. Student walking to the residences that were located at Shaver Hospital. Undated. The Founders' Committee, from left,	R.L. Hearn, Queenston; W.J. Freeman, Port  Colborne; M.A. Chown, St. Catharines; M.L. Swart, Thorold; C. Bruce Hill, Queenston;  C. B. Slemon, Niagara Falls; Dr. James A. Gibson, St. Catharines; D. G. Willmot, St.  Catharines; J. M. Trott, Welland; A.C. Rae, Fonthill; W. B. C. Burgoyne, St. Catharines;  E.S. Howard, Fort Erie; L. R. Williams, Welland; S. J. Leishman, Thorold; E. J.  Barbeau, St. Catharines; E. R. Davey, Niagara Falls. Missing: W. B. Gunning, Niagara  Falls, W. S. Martin, Q.C. Queenston; C. W. Morehead, Welland; B.P.R. Newman, St.  Catharines.
St. Paul Street United Church - September 1964, the University held classes here for 13 weeks until the Glenridge Campus was completely renovated. Faculty photo from 1965. Front row from left, W.N. Hull, J.N. Jackson, E.A. Cherniak, E.E. Goldsmith, G.O.B. Davies, J.A. Gibson, M.S. Hornyansky, W.G. Ormsby, J.R.A. Mayer, R.E.V. Bismuth. Second row, from left, C.M. Wolff, E. Mirynech, J.K. Derden, J.A. Fernandez, J.P. Meeker, J. W. Wilson, M. Howson, R.R. Hiatt, F. P. Koffyberg, H.A. Vespry. Back row, from left, S.C. Chang, G.G. Gauthier, A.R. Hoermann, I.C. Shaw, G.M.C. Sprung, N. Rosenblood. Brock's Founding President Dr. James A. Gibson addresses guests gathered for the groundbreaking of the Brock tower. Undated.
- McGlenister & Brisson Photographers The official sod turning for the DeCew Campus, held in June 1965, from left, Founding Chair D.G. Willmot, the Hon. James N. Allan, and Brock Founding President Dr. James A. Gibson. The Hon. James N. Allan turns sod during the official groundbreaking ceremony for 
the DeCew campus held in June 1965. At right is Assistant Professor Edward Mirynech, marshal for the day. 
- Dick Titley from the St. Catharines Standard - Photographer.
The Brock University Glendale Campus. Undated.
- McGlenister & Brisson Photographers Convocation day. Don Chapman in 1967. The opening of Inniskillin Hall in June 1999 was an opportunity to bring together for the
first time Brock's five Presidents, from left, President Emeritus James Gibson, President Emeritus Alan Earp, Past President Terry White, Past Acting President Susan Clark and President David Atkinson. An aerial view of the Brock campus, student townhouses. Undated.
- St. Catharines Standard photo Brock University President Terry White, Doug Creighton and members of the O'Sullivan family at the naming of the Sean O'Sullivan Theatre, on March 6, 1992.
Founding faculty at 15 Welland Ave. September 1964. From left, Ernest Goldsmith, Registrar; Professor William Ormsby, History; Professor John Hart, Science Studies; Dr. J.A. Gibson, President; Professor Michael Hornyansky, English; Professor Juan Fernandez, Spanish; and Professor Guy Gauthier, French. Celebrating the official opening of Brock's Glenridge campus, October 19, 1964, from left, Mrs. Caroline Gibson, D.G. Willmot, Chair, Founder's Committee, Governor General Georges P. Vanier, Dr. J. A. Gibson, Madame Pauline Vanier, William G. Davis, Minister of University Affairs and Mrs. Willmot.


Brock University 500 Glenridge Avenue St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada L2S 3A1       Phone: 905-688-5550 Canadian Flag
Questions?   Brock University © 2016, Disclaimer
Return to Brock Homepage